Weapons Charges Attorney Houston
Legal Defense for Weapon Offenses in Texas
There is a common misconception that Texas State is particularly lenient when it comes to weapons and gun crimes. The reality is that carrying, using, or presenting a firearm in a way that is not in line with the law can slam you with some of the harshest penalties in the criminal justice system. To increase your chances of avoid a conviction and damaging sentencing, you should contact Houston Criminal Defense Attorney Guy Womack at your earliest convenience.
Our Houston weapons charges lawyers are here to help. Contact us at (713) 364-9913 today!
Rundown of Texas State's Weapon Laws
Protecting yourself from gun and weapons charges in Texas begins with understanding the law and what law enforcement officers are saying you did to violate it. In most places throughout the state, it is unlawful to carry a handgun of any sort but you may legally carry a shotgun or rifle of considerable size, openly or concealed, so long as you do so in a nonthreatening manner and do not pose any immediate harm to people; loading the weapon for any reason may be seen as a threat to those around you. To carry a handgun or pistol, a specific gun license must be obtained.
You may not carry a handgun, even if you have a concealed handgun license:
- At amusement parks.
- At a place of worship (church, mosque, etc.).
- In a medical facility.
- Within 1000 feet of a jail, prison, or correctional complex.
- Inside private or public schools or any related building or vehicle.
- At a racetrack or betting event.
- If you are intoxicated or impaired.
You may also carry a handgun legally without a concealed handgun license if:
- You are on your own property.
- You are in your car and are not a street gang member or committing a serious crime.
- You are currently, will soon be, or had recently engaged in lawful hunting or fishing.
No firearm of any kind can be stored within reach of anyone under 17 years of age. If this is not possible due to your property or living situation, the gun must have a secured lock on the trigger and the key must be kept on your person or where the minor cannot find it.
Shield Yourself from Harsh Weapons Charges
Depending on the circumstances of your arrest, you could be charged for unlawful:
- Possession, sale, or distribution of a firearm.
- Discharge of a firearm.
- Brandishing of a firearm to threaten or intimidate.
- Storage of a firearm.
Houston weapons charges attorney Guy Womack of Guy L. Womack & Associates, P.C. can craft a solid legal defense to whatever weapons charges you are facing. Were you charged with a misdemeanor for not having your concealed handgun license on you? Were you charged with a felony for allegedly using your weapon during another criminal offense, like an assault or robbery? A conviction for any offense could cost you thousands in fines and months or years behind bars, but Mr. Womack and his firm are ready to defend you.
Misdemeanor Theft Charges Dismissed and Expunged from Record
State of Texas v. AMC
Assault Case Dismissed
Texas v. BN
Sexual Assault No Charges Filed
Texas v. AT
Aggravated Assault Case Dismissed
Texas v. ES
Assault w/ Deadly Weapon Charges Will Be Dismissed After Probation
Texas v. JR
Embezzling More Than $125,000 Charges Dismissed
State of Texas v. LM
Aggravated Assault Case Dismissed
State of Texas v. BJV
$300,000 of Equipment and Funds Were Misplaced, Disposed of And/Or Taken Criminal Charges Dropped
State of Texas v. SM
Assault Dismissed After 1 Year of Good Behavior
State of Texas v. CAN
Solicited and Received Child Pornography via File-Sharing Program Case Dismissed After 2 Year Probation
State of Texas v. AWF