Houston DWI Lawyer
60 Years of Fierce Representation Against Criminal Charges
Houston DWI Lawyer
Texas Drunk Driving Laws
Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a criminal offense that involves a driver
operating a motor vehicle while “intoxicated.” This may mean
that the driver has a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or greater,
or that the driver’s mental or physical abilities are impaired due
to alcohol consumption or drug use. DWI may also involve enhanced charges
and penalties if the driver is involved in an auto accident causing injury or death.
Having an aggressive Houston DWI attorney at your side can significantly impact the outcome of your DWI case. For example, even in situations where a driver has failed a breath or blood test or field sobriety tests, there are defense strategies that an experienced Houston DWI lawyer can use to weaken the prosecution’s evidence. A breath test may be administered improperly by law enforcement personnel. The arresting officer may have failed to give proper instructions for a field sobriety test.
By discovering these errors and exposing them to the court, it is possible for a Houston DWI attorney to motion to have specific evidence suppressed.
Reach out to our Houston DWI lawyers in a free consultation today by calling (713) 364-9913!
Houston, TX DWI Penalties
According to the Texas Department of Transportation, about every 20 minutes in Texas, someone is either injured or killed in a collision involving alcohol. In Texas and across the nation, someone is legally intoxicated and may be arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI) when their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) registers .08% or higher; however, a person is considered intoxicated if they are impaired by alcohol or drugs regardless of their blood alcohol concentration.
The penalties for a DWI in Texas are as follows:
First DWI in TX
- A maximum fine of $2,000
- From 3 days to 180 days in jail
- Up to one year driver's license suspension
- An annual fee of $1,000 or $2,000 for 3 years to retain your driver's license
2nd Offense DWI in TX
- Up to $4,000 fine
- From one month to two years in jail
- Loss of driver's license for up to two years
- Annual fee assessment of $1,000, $1,500 or $2,000 for three years to retain your driver's license
3rd Offense DWI in TX
On a third offense, a fine of $10,000 is assessed, and other penalties include from two to ten years in prison, the loss of a driver's license for up to two years, and an annual fee of $1,000, $1,500, or $2,000 for three years to retain one's driver's license. Additionally, anyone who has two or more DWI convictions within five years are required to install an ignition switch that prevents their vehicle from operating when they have alcohol in their system.
DWI with Child Passenger Penalties in TX
You can also be charged with child endangerment if you are caught driving while intoxicated with a child under the age of 15 in your vehicle. DWI with a child passenger may be punished by: a maximum $10,000 fine, up to two years in a state jail, and the loss of your driver's license for 180 days.
Contact a Houston DWI Lawyer Today!
Guy L. Womack & Associates, P.C. is based in Houston and takes on DWI cases throughout Texas. Drunk driving is a common offense but may have serious consequences, including driver’s license suspension or revocation, imprisonment, fines, and much more. By applying particular knowledge of Texas DWI law and utilizing legal experience in your favor, the Houston DWI lawyers at Guy L. Womack & Associates, P.C. can work to defend you against a conviction and harsh penalties, including those for felony DWI charges, multiple DWI charges, and underage DWI.
You do not have to lose your license and face imprisonment simply because you have been arrested and charged with drunk driving.
To obtain more information about DWI and related offenses, we welcome you to contact a lawyer at our firm for a free initial consultation. Call our Houston DWI attorneys at (713) 364-9913 today!
Officer Misconduct Receive Only Minor Punishments
U.S. v. GySgt PAE
Aggravated Assault No Criminal Charges Filed
U.S. v. LTC GW
Misdemeanor Theft Charges Dismissed and Expunged from Record
State of Texas v. AMC
$2 Million Settlement Obtained for Grieving Family
$4 Million Settlement Recovered for Electrocution Victim
Rape Never Charged
Matter of JH
Get Started Today
60 Years of Combined Experience
Thousands of Cases Successfully Defended
Hundreds of Jury Trials Handled
Highly Respected by the Legal Community
Honest & Straightforward Legal Advice
Accessible & Responsive Representation