Underage DUI Charges
60 Years of Fierce Representation Against Criminal Charges
Underage DWI Charges
Under 21 DWI in Houston
Were you recently arrested for driving under the influence or was your son or daughter recently arrested for an underage DWI? While it's illegal for an adult over the age of 21 to have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or greater while operating a motor vehicle, under the state's zero tolerance law, drivers under the age of 21 cannot drink and drive with any detectable amount of alcohol in their system. As of September 1st, 2009, the state expanded this law to include watercrafts in addition to motor vehicles.
Contact our Houston underage DWI lawyers today!
Underage DWI Penalties in Texas
The penalties for an underage DUI in Texas include:
Underage DUI First Offense
- Class C misdemeanor
- Up to $500 fine
- Required to attend a 12-hour alcohol awareness class
- Between 20 and 55 hours of community service
- One year driver's license suspension
Underage DUI Second Offense
- Class C misdemeanor
- Attendance at a 12-hour alcohol awareness class (at the judge's discretion)
- 55 to 60 hours of community service
- Up to one year driver's license suspension
Underage DUI Third Offense
- Not eligible for deferred adjudication
- 180 day license suspension
- If the minor is aged 17 or older, the fine increases from $500 to $2,000, confinement in jail for up to 180 days, or both.
Under certain circumstances the defendant may receive a 90-day driver's license suspension if the presiding judge orders community services and an ignition interlock device.
Contact a Houston Underage DWI Lawyer
In addition to the administrative and criminal penalties associated with an underage DUI, you cannot forget what a conviction would do to your monthly insurance premiums and your future. Once you are convicted of DUI, you will be required to disclose this fact on various college applications, student loan applications and applications for employment. Having a criminal conviction on your record is one thing that you want to avoid at all costs; especially at a time in your life when you have your entire future ahead of you.
If you or someone you love was recently arrested for an underage DUI, you are strongly urged to contact a Houston underage DWI attorney from Guy L. Womack & Associates, P.C. The attorneys at the firm are well-versed in all of the local, state and federal laws and have extensive experience defending young adults against DUI charges. The Houston DWI lawyers at the firm are aware of what penalties you are up against, as well as how a conviction would negatively impact your future.
Let them put their years of experience to work to zealously defend you – contact the firm at (713) 364-9913 today to speak with our Houston DWI attorneys!
Officer Misconduct Receive Only Minor Punishments
U.S. v. GySgt PAE
Aggravated Assault No Criminal Charges Filed
U.S. v. LTC GW
Misdemeanor Theft Charges Dismissed and Expunged from Record
State of Texas v. AMC
$2 Million Settlement Obtained for Grieving Family
$4 Million Settlement Recovered for Electrocution Victim
Rape Never Charged
Matter of JH
Get Started Today
60 Years of Combined Experience
Thousands of Cases Successfully Defended
Hundreds of Jury Trials Handled
Highly Respected by the Legal Community
Honest & Straightforward Legal Advice
Accessible & Responsive Representation