Suspended License Attorney Houston
Facing Driver's License Suspension in Texas?
When people are convicted of DWI they face the possibility of having their driver's license suspended for up to two years on a first offense or they may receive probation. Commercial drivers who are convicted of DWI face having their CDL disqualified. A person's license can also be suspended if they refused to submit to a blood or breath test.
If the court grants probation, then the individual will be required to complete a 12-hour class in an authorized alcohol education program unless the presiding judge has waived this requirement. Those who are allowed to participate in an alcohol education program are required to submit proof with the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) within 180 days from the date of the conviction or their driver's license will be revoked.
Some people are eligible for an occupational license while their license is suspended or revoked. To learn more about eligibility and how to apply, contact a Houston license suspension lawyer from Guy L. Womack & Associates, P.C. today.
Driver's License Suspension & Minors in TX
Any driver under 21 who is convicted of DWI will receive a one-year driver's license suspension and they will be required to complete a 12-hour class in an authorized alcohol education program. If the offender fails to complete the alcohol education program then it will result in a 180-day suspension and subsequent offenses may result in a one-year license suspension.
An underage driver may receive a 90-day license suspension providing that an ignition interlock device and community service has been ordered by the presiding judge. When an ignition interlock device is issued, then a special driver's license must be issued in order for the minor to drive. Minors who are convicted of other alcohol offenses such as purchasing alcohol, consuming alcohol, or possessing alcohol also face driver's license suspension if they are convicted. Upon a first conviction the minor faces a 30-day suspension and on a second offense they face a 60-day suspension, and a 180-day suspension on the third offense.
Contact Guy L. Womack & Associates, P.C.
To reinstate one's license they must pay the required reinstatement fee; they must obtain a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22), which must be maintained for two years from the date of the conviction and; they must submit tao the DPS the certificate of completion for any Repeat Offenders' DWI Drug Education Program if it is required by the court.
To learn more about driver's license suspension and how you can fight your DWI charges, contact a Houston license suspension attorney from the firm today.
Misdemeanor Theft Charges Dismissed and Expunged from Record
State of Texas v. AMC
Assault Case Dismissed
Texas v. BN
Sexual Assault No Charges Filed
Texas v. AT
Aggravated Assault Case Dismissed
Texas v. ES
Assault w/ Deadly Weapon Charges Will Be Dismissed After Probation
Texas v. JR
Embezzling More Than $125,000 Charges Dismissed
State of Texas v. LM
Aggravated Assault Case Dismissed
State of Texas v. BJV
$300,000 of Equipment and Funds Were Misplaced, Disposed of And/Or Taken Criminal Charges Dropped
State of Texas v. SM
Assault Dismissed After 1 Year of Good Behavior
State of Texas v. CAN
Solicited and Received Child Pornography via File-Sharing Program Case Dismissed After 2 Year Probation
State of Texas v. AWF