Weapons Charge Defense in Texas
Houston Criminal Defense Attorney Guy Womack
There is a common misconception that Texas State is particularly lenient
when it comes to weapons and gun crimes. The reality is that carrying,
using, or presenting a firearm in a way that is not in line with the law
can slam you with some of the harshest penalties in the criminal justice
system. To increase your chances of avoid a conviction and damaging sentencing,
contact Houston Criminal Defense Attorney Guy Womack at your earliest convenience.
Learn more about your legal options during a
free initial consultation with his law firm.
Rundown of Texas State's Weapon Laws
Protecting yourself from gun and weapons charges in Texas begins with understanding
the law and what law enforcement officers are saying you did to violate
it. In most places throughout the state, it is unlawful to carry a handgun
of any sort
but you may legally carry a shotgun or rifle of considerable size, openly
or concealed, so long as you do so in a nonthreatening manner and do not
pose any immediate harm to people; loading the weapon for any reason may
be seen as a threat to those around you. To carry a handgun or pistol,
a specific gun license must be obtained.
not carry a handgun, even if you have a concealed handgun license:
- At amusement parks.
- At a place of worship (church, mosque, etc.).
- In a medical facility.
- Within 1000 feet of a jail, prison, or correctional complex.
- Inside private or public schools or any related building or vehicle.
- At a racetrack or betting event.
- If you are intoxicated or impaired.
You may also carry a handgun legally without a concealed handgun license if:
- You are on your own property.
- You are in your car and are not a street gang member or committing a serious crime.
- You are currently, will soon be, or had recently engaged in lawful hunting
No firearm of any kind can be stored within reach of anyone under 17 years
of age. If this is not possible due to your property or living situation,
the gun must have a secured lock on the trigger and the key must be kept
on your person or where the minor cannot find it.
Shield Yourself from Harsh Weapons Charges
Depending on the circumstances of your arrest, you could be charged for unlawful:
- Possession, sale, or distribution of a firearm.
- Discharge of a firearm.
- Brandishing of a firearm to threaten or intimidate.
- Storage of a firearm.
Houston Criminal Defense Attorney Guy Womack of Guy L. Womack & Associates,
P.C. can craft a solid legal defense to whatever weapons charges you are
facing. Were you charged with a misdemeanor for not having your concealed
handgun license on you? Were you charged with a felony for allegedly using
your weapon during another criminal offense, like an assault or robbery?
A conviction for any offense could cost you thousands in fines and months
or years behind bars, but Mr. Womack and his firm are ready to defend you.
Back yourself with 20+ years of legal experience.
Contact the firm right away!