Domestic Violence Charges in Texas
Houston Domestic Violence Attorney
An argument can quickly turn into a serious legal matter when a spouse, family member or neighbor calls 911. Once law enforcement is involved, the case quickly can spin out of control. The alleged victim will not have the power to refuse to press charges, and law enforcement will more than likely make an arrest once they are called to the scene.
In Texas, domestic violence is a criminal offense that is treated very harshly by both law enforcement personnel and prosecuting attorneys. After law enforcement makes an arrest, it will be in the hands of the prosecutor to decide whether to press charges.
Understanding the Domestic Violence Charges Against You
Domestic violence, also referred to as family violence, is generally defined as any assault on a relative or household member. A first offense of this kind may result in imprisonment for up to 1 year and fines of up to $4,000. Repeat offenders will likely face felony charges and increased penalties, and this also applies in cases involving serious bodily injury.
Domestic violence may be entirely physical in nature or may also involve emotional abuse, sexual abuse, neglect, or child endangerment. In either case, it is important to receive representation from a knowledgeable legal guide at our firm. We offer free evaluations!
Schedule a Free Consultation at Guy L. Womack & Associates, P.C.
You may have been accused of and arrested for domestic violence, but you still have rights. You have the right to immediate legal counsel, and you deserve the best. By contacting an experienced
criminal defense attorney at Guy L. Womack & Associates, P.C., you can find out more about your case and what you are up against. You can get the information you need to make an informed decision not only about your legal counsel but about your case in general.
Contact our firm today to talk to a Houston domestic violence lawyer about your case.